conversations with a banana

conversations with a banana

Well you can’t really have a conversation with a banana…

The very nature of the term ‘conversation’ dictates
that there be some form of exchange
between at least two parties, whether verbal or nonverbal,
and we all know bananas aren’t very good speakers,
as fruit goes. Unless, of course,
they are lounging happily in a sea of Rice Krispies and milk.

The funny thing is I always used to use a banana
as a telephone when I was younger. I never ate the damn things,
don’t particularly like the way they taste.
But they sure do make good communication devices
for an imaginative five-year-old.

If a bowl of crisped rice can speak volumes,
then there is hope yet for the versatile banana.
Hell, maybe bananas can talk
but we’re just not listening hard enough.

I wonder what a plantain would say to that.

 

Copyright © 2011 by Christopher Chaffin – All rights reserved

About cjchaffin

Wordsmithing is my passion. I eat, sleep, and breathe words and phrases, only to regurgitate them and pray that they are better off than when I first ingested them.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to conversations with a banana

  1. vilmariemarie says:

    Love this!

      • Sonja Chaffin says:

        wow, really brother lol too funny and I still use a banana as a phone lol and it whispers too me sometimes…but lets not forget how far along the banana has come…hell it got great reviews from Gwen Stefani! So I leave you with that awesome phrase brother: “This SHIT is bananas, B.A.N.A.N.A.S!! LOVE you Brother o yeah (in a whisper voice) the plantain aint got nothing on me bitch(from the banana) hehehehe

  2. cjchaffin says:

    oh sister you make me laugh so hard!! love it!!! and stop trying to call me with a banana, i’m using a cucumber now…

Leave a Reply

