melting

melting

Soft clouds pool and spill over highland ridges,
rivers of shape-shifting fluff that seem
to mock me as I stare out the window.

The landscape below bears battle scars
of thundering giants, dueling glaciers carving
out bits and pieces on a continual journey to the sea.

How I envy them, those frozen streams
that have remained to caress and pummel
the Scotland I have grown to love.

Snowcapped cairns melt one by one
as my plane travels farther south,
thoughts of you bleeding out in place of tears.

Fingertips pressed to glass, I empty my mind,
throat trembling as I swallow a hastily said goodbye.

 

Copyright © 2011 by Christopher Chaffin – All rights reserved

About cjchaffin

Wordsmithing is my passion. I eat, sleep, and breathe words and phrases, only to regurgitate them and pray that they are better off than when I first ingested them.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

