opposite shores

opposite shores

I imagine you standing there
at the mouth of the River Clyde,
a carefully rolled cigarette hanging
lazily from your lips.

You are pensive, motionless
as the waves roll in,
each one whispering my name
and carrying the salt of my tears.

I brave the rocky coast here at home,
wade into the sea until my legs
are as numb as the rest of my body.
I tell myself that I like being numb,

that it suits me just fine;
though sometimes I wish the truth
would scuttle over and pinch my toes,
wake me from chilled suspension.

Tonight, I am not so lucky as to be pinched,
embedded in a waterlogged dream.
I walk further into the cool surf,
toward the opposite shore, to you.

 

Copyright © 2011 by Christopher Chaffin – All rights reserved

About cjchaffin

Wordsmithing is my passion. I eat, sleep, and breathe words and phrases, only to regurgitate them and pray that they are better off than when I first ingested them.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

