Greenwich Mean Time

Greenwich Mean Time

You are miles away, across
a giant salty pond, with several
frustrating time zones between us.
Night falls, and again I am restless,
lining up pillows under blankets,
pretending you are here with me.

I talk to you, mumble about the rain
or the cat, until I fall asleep
holding tear-stained cotton wishes.
Thoughts of you and your Scottish lilt
occupy my dreams, fluttering eyelids
waiting to open at the sound of a
blaring ringtone of bagpipes.

But telephone calls cannot replace
your whispering lips upon my ear;
computer screens are no match
for your actual face, and I am weary,
withering from lack of touch.
Time is not on either of our sides.

 

Copyright © 2010 by Christopher Chaffin – All rights reserved

About cjchaffin

Wordsmithing is my passion. I eat, sleep, and breathe words and phrases, only to regurgitate them and pray that they are better off than when I first ingested them.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greenwich Mean Time

  1. mamta says:

    time and distance are real bummers in a relationship. The longing to cross the distance is very effectively handled.

Leave a Reply

