knit one, purl two

Knit one and purl two…
I repeat the mantra
in hopes of changing the simple yarn
into the intricately woven epic.

I add words of varying weight,
loop after loop of texture
in a frustrated attempt to produce brilliance,
yielding what can only be described as an ugly rug.

Just once I would love to create something pure,
to hear the precious sound of iambic feet
pitter-patter across my desk,

and watch with pride as the stanzas grow stronger.
I long to hold a newborn trochee in my arms,
nuzzle it and recognize its scent as my own.

But for now, I am left with this boring yarn,
a lump of anecdote pooled at my feet.

Perhaps I shall take up painting instead.

 

Copyright © 2011 by Christopher Chaffin – All rights reserved

About cjchaffin

Wordsmithing is my passion. I eat, sleep, and breathe words and phrases, only to regurgitate them and pray that they are better off than when I first ingested them.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

