the mourning dove (for Patton)

At first light, I turn my head

towards an open window

and listen to the dove’s lament.

I know his pain. I know his cry.

 

He weeps in such a way

that makes me wish

I could answer,

but only God or another dove

can heed that call.

 

I turn my head away from the window,

pull warm covers back over my ears

and wait for him to fly away.

About cjchaffin

Wordsmithing is my passion. I eat, sleep, and breathe words and phrases, only to regurgitate them and pray that they are better off than when I first ingested them.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the mourning dove (for Patton)

  1. Bernadette Blakeney says:

    This poem was full of feeling and sadness. It is one that anyone can relate to. I am a fan of this piece and its writer.

Leave a Reply

